New baby quilt!

P1040057

New babies are always exciting, and this baby is no exception!  My nephew and his wife had their first child recently, and this is the first grandchild for my sister and brother-in-law.  I’m happy to report that all went well, and this baby girl has no lack of people to love on her!

Her nursery was done in a very pleasing combination of colors, and I was able to find fabrics at the quilt show in just the right shades.  I think this quilt is a good example of how high quality fabrics can make a simple pattern look complex.  Most of the fabrics are batik, which gives them a look of swirling movement. This particular pattern has a number of names in Blockbase:  Old Garden Wall, ZigZag, Streak of Lightning, General Sherman’s Quilt, and Depression Quilt (as in the Great Depression, when they used every scrap they had just to keep warm).  I drew myself a colored chart to follow, and it was easy to cut and piece.

P1040055

When it came time to quilt it, I wasn’t quite sure how to proceed.  After some thought, I decided I wanted something curvy to de-emphasize the blockiness of the quilt.  I have an attachment on my sewing machine that allows me to follow a previously quilted line, so I used a bowl to trace the first curve in a corner, and then followed the lines out from there.  I was pleased with how it looked, and it was very quick!

 

2 thoughts on “New baby quilt!

  1. Thank you for the beautiful quilt! You make it sound easy in this post but Anna, Makinzie and I appreciate all the little details you put into it. As you stated the colors are a perfect match!

Leave a Reply

