Homemade sauerkraut

P1030938

Let me just begin by saying that I don’t eat this stuff.  However, my husband and daughter love it, and I’m always up for a culinary adventure.  So, they chopped and smushed a whole head of cabbage, and placed it in the red crock pictured.  We used a recipe from my Christmas present, The Homemade Pantry by Alana Chernila, with one important addition.  We added some EM-1 to introduce some friendly microorganisms to help it ferment properly.

Two weeks later, I kept smelling the kraut, so I told my husband it was time to package it up.  As you can see, our large head of cabbage made almost 2 quarts of sauerkraut!  He pronounced it most tasty….I’ll just take his word for it.

One thought on “Homemade sauerkraut

  1. Pingback: Garden Party! | Patchwork of Life

Leave a Reply

